“Human progress is our cause, liberty of thought our supreme wish, freedom of conscience our mission, and the guarantee of equal rights to all people everywhere our ultimate goal.” – Scottish Rite Creed


Salt Lake City Masonic Temple Auditorium Ceremony Of Remembrance and Renewal

Salt Lake City Masonic Temple Auditorium
Ceremony Of Remembrance and Renewal

What is the Scottish Rite of Freemasonry

The Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite of Freemasonry is commonly known as the Scottish Rite. It is one of several groups comprising the worldwide fraternity known as Freemasonry. The Scottish Rite is the largest and most widely practiced Masonic Rite in the world and employs a Lodge system.

Lodge of Perfection

Confers the 4°–14°, and styled as the ineffable degrees  from the Latin ineffibilis meaning something that should not be spoken. The ineffable degrees are closest to the Blue Lodge, and continue and complete with some variation the story of the Lost Word, it’s preservation and restoration.

Chapter Rose-Croix

The degrees of the Chapter of Rose Croix, 15th° through to the 18th, are very complex. They attempt to invest the candidate with a deeper understanding of Religion, Philosophy, Ethics, and History. The intellectual challenges presented in these degrees, is at times overwhelming, and can take years to master.

Council of Kadosh

The degrees are the 19° through the 30° of the Council of Kadosh are chivalric and philosophical, but also contain mystical material. The word “Kadosh” is a Hebrew word meaning “Holy”. The complexity of these degrees cannot be overstated and is exemplified by the sheer amount of written materials attributed to them.


The Consistory Degrees, 31° to the 32° are very different from all the preceding degrees. They attempt to illustrate the creation of the ideal balance between the spiritual and the temporal and reveal to the candidate the Royal Secret.